June Wrap Up

20160630_203656

I had to count my book stack about 3 times to make sure that the numbers were adding up right, but I read 17 books this month. Overall it was a good month, the first part of it started off a bit rough, I wasn’t really impressed with the books that I read but then things turned around and I read some amazing books!


20160630_203925

Starling
by Fiona Paul
my rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was so bummed that I ended up not liking the last book of this trilogy but I wasn’t surprised. I didn’t care for the second book of this trilogy. It just sucks when that happens, I feel like I invested so much time to sit down and read these books and go from loving the first book to the second book being okay and then the 3rd is just kind of a snooze fest. Plus my ship didn’t sail.

20160630_203755
The One and Only Ivan
by Katherine Applegate
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

What is it about children’s books that bring out my feels? I was sobbing throughout this, just straight up broken. The poor treatment, the acceptance that life will probably never get better, the innocence, and the determination to make a difference those thing just destroyed me, I don’t think I have ever cried so hard during a book. But it was sweet and I loved it!


Never Never part 1, 2, and 3
by Colleen Hoover and Tarryn Fisher
my ratings: Book 1: 4 out of 5 stars |Book 2: 4 out of 5 stars |Book 3: 3 out of 5 stars

Ah, another trilogy I was disappointed with. I’m not sure if this is actually considered a trilogy but I’m considering it to be one, and I was not happy with the ending. I found it to be incredibly anticlimactic and the whole reason why everything happened really annoyed me.

20160531_210507
My Heart and Other Black Holes
by Jasmine Warga
my rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Overall I thought this was alright, I never felt emotionally connected to either of the characters which really limited my reading experience.

20160601_210400
When We Collided
by Emery Lord
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Then I experienced a total 180 turn with When We Collided, I ended up loving this a lot more than I thought I would. Jonah is 100% book boyfriend material and the characters were just so loveable and endearing.

20160531_210737
A Court of Mist and Fury
by Sarah J Maas
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I don’t even know where to start besides just perfection! Holy amazing steamy love! Rhysand is a precious cupcake, and Feyre is fierce and I love her, and I think this book wrenched my heart out and stomped it into the ground!

20160601_210606
Lady Midnight
by Cassandra Clare
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This took me so long to get into but once I did I flew through it just loved it so much, everyone described this to me as an emotional rollercoaster and oh boy they were right. SO MANY FEELS! I can’t wait for the next one!

20160503_085116
The Night Circus
by Erin Morgenstern
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Seriously the Night Circus is a flawless masterpiece. The world building was amazing and all the little stories wove together just beautifully. I already want to reread it!

20160630_203836
Days of Blood and Starlight
by Laini Taylor
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Quick funny story. I read Daughter of Smoke and Bone last year and loved it with every inch of my heart, I loved it so much that I wanted to dye my hair blue and tattoo hamsas on my hands and now it’s a year later and I still want to do all of that. Back to DoBaS, this was another emotional rollercoaster! And I don’t even know where I would start if I wanted to review this, just trust me and read it.

20160630_203828
The Darkest Minds
by Alexandra Bracken
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was so good! I don’t know where I would begin with all of this, it was intense, suspenseful and overall it really kept me guessing, I had no idea where the story was going to go and I still have no idea what to expect from the rest of the trilogy. I love when books are able to keep me guessing.

20160630_203813
Alienated
by Melissa Landers
my rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This is another book that I enjoyed a lot more than I thought I would, the cover made it look cutesy and fluffy. And it was cute and a but fluffy but the MCs had to deal with racism and discrimination, there were environmental issues, and overall I felt like there was a lot more then what meets the eye with this book.

20160630_202617
The Unexpected Everything
by Morgan Matson
my rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was so cute! I read this within a day just flew through it and loved the friendships, the personal growth and character developments. Just really well done.

20160630_203858
A Book of Spirits and Thieves
by Morgan Rhodes
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was awesome, I loved all the main characters and I feel like it was a very well done spinoff.

20160630_203908
The 5th Wave
by Rick Yancey
my rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was originally a 3 star rating for me, well more like 3.5 stars but the ending really hooked me and I will be reading Infinite Sea really soon, so because of that I felt like this should be bumped up the ½ point. I really struggled reading this, I didn’t like how the POV’s were set up so that you would have to figure out who was talking. That really irritated me. That said I will continue reading it.


Favorites of the month
A Court of Mist and Fury, Days of Blood and Starlight, and The Darkest Minds

8 thoughts on “June Wrap Up

  1. 17 books!!! That sounds like a great reading month!! 🙂
    I definitely agree with you about When We Collided! I read in June as well and now I ❤ Jonah. I really loved Emery Lord's writing style, especially how the chapters alternated between Vivi and Jonah's perspectives.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

