Slammed Review

20151108_140402

Slammed
by Colleen Hoover
paperback
321 pages
my rating: 3 out of 5 stars
book 1 of the Slammed Series

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Layken’s father died suddenly, leaving her to gather every ounce of strength to be a pillar for her family, in order to prevent their world from falling apart. Now her life is taking another unexpected turn…

Layken’s mother gets a job which leads to an unwanted move across the country. However, a new home means new neighbours… and Layken’s new neighbour is the very attractive Will Cooper.

Will has an intriguing passion for slam poetry, and a matching passion for life. The two feel an irresistible attraction but are rocked to the core when a shocking revelation brings their romance to a screeching halt. Layken and Will must find a way to fight the forces that threaten to tear them apart…or learn to live without each other.


My thoughts:

Here’s a good alternative title for Slammed: holy mother of plot twists!

Seriously there were just plot twists left and right throughout this book, it was kind of insane. Yet despite with all of those plot twists, I felt a little disappointed, Β don’t get me wrong, the story was gripping, it clung to me and made me not want to put it down at all. But when I was trying to think about why I liked it so I could write this review I realized that was the case, I liked it. I did not love it.

The poetry aspect of it was awesome, I actually wish there had been more of it, I loved how deeply personal each of the poems were, how they told the story of an event in that person’s life. The poems really reached out and helped me connect with the all of the characters and really made me feel for them.

I don’t want to reveal the first plot twist, I don’t want to reveal any of them so that’s going to make this review a little hard but its worth trying. I hated how Layken didn’t take a serious matter, a very serious situation with Will very seriously. Yes she’s 18 but still if their situation was ever found out there would be massive consequences for Will, and even though he explained some of the big ones to her he left out the most serious ones that I personally would have lead with. But even with the consequences that she did know, she still pushed him and the limits and that really irritated me, I feel like if she really loved him she should have accepted that this can’t happen and move on, but she never did. She kind of tried a few times, but I do feel like she never put any effort into it.

I was quite annoyed with Will at times, I applauded how he was aware of theΒ consequences that he would face but at the same time he kept slipping up, kept drawing Layken closer then pushing her away, I realize how that makes it difficult for her to move on but I feel like there could have been more effort on both of their parts. I have to wonder though if their love was worth it to them.

Despite all of my complaining about the things I didn’t like, there was something that I really enjoyed about the book, a little something that I can’t quite put my finger on.

Colleen Hoover does that to me, her stories stay with me, take Ugly Love, for example, I thought the book was okay, I didn’t love it, but I also didn’t hate it, but the other day I found myself thinking about it so I downloaded the audio book so I could reread it. I can’t explain the spell that Colleen Hoover casts over me and I will continue to be a faithful reader.

One thought on “Slammed Review

Leave a Reply

