2016 Book Favorites

No one should be shocked by any of these, I have raved about all of them and each one of these books have stuck with me all throughout the year.

They are all new favorites and ones I would pick up and reread again and again.

Outlander
by Diana Gabaldon

A Court of Mist and Fury
by Sarah J Maas

This Savage Song
by Victoria Schwab

Dreams of Gods and Monsters
by Laini Taylor

Red Rising
by Pierce Brown

The Wrath and The Dawn
by Renee Ahdieh

The Night Circus
by Erin Morgenstern

Crooked Kingdom
by Leigh Bardugo

The Song of Achilles
by Madeline Miller

Gemina
by Amie Kauffman and Jay Kristoff

The Star Touched Queen
by RoshaniΒ Chokshi


My 2016 Least Favorites

I decided to add these on just for that kind of contrast. I’m sorry if any of these are your favorites, they just didn’t do it for me.

Dreamology by Lucy Keating

This may not be a surprise because I wrote a very non gushing review for it, just to refresh, I didn’t like the characters, the story didn’t make sense in a lot of parts, and our characters priorities were way out of line.

Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie

I really struggled to get through this one, the plot was slow and really dragged on for a lot of it, and there was something about the writing style that I couldn’t get into. Really disappointing read of the year.

Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson

At the moment I really cant think of why I didn’t like this. Its just not coming to me right now, I remember not liking the character and thinking that the book was 200 pages too long.

This Girl by Colleen Hoover

Ah this one, the Slammed series by Colleen Hoover is my least favorite out of everything that shes written. I wasn’t a fan of Slammed and this was just Wills POV for everything that happened. It really didn’t shed any light on the story, brought nothing new to the series.

The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Oh the injustice of the ending for this trilogy!!!! Really disappointing ending to an amazing trilogy.


There’s my list of favorite and least favorite reads of 2016. I cant believe that the year is almost over.

What was your favorite read of 2016? Least favorite?
Let me know in the comments and don’t worry if one of your least favorites was one of my favorites. I’d be curious to know why πŸ™‚

21 thoughts on “2016 Book Favorites

  1. This is a fantastic list! I love all the books you mentioned, especially Crooked Kingdom, ACOMAF, and Night Circus! I haven’t read Gemina or Gods and Monsters but I read their predecessors just recently and LOVED them. I’m really looking forward to reading the next ones. Star Touched Queen had such beautiful writing and Red Rising and Savage Song sound so intriguing. I actually really liked Second Chance Summer but I don’t read many contemporary books to compare it to others πŸ˜‚ Awesome post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I hope I can do my lists soon though I read Six of Crows and loved it, next year I hope to read Crooked Kingdom. I also want to read Illuminae next year, I have only heard amazing things! ACOTAR was AMAZING I just loved it soo much and I can’t wait for ACOWAR.
    I started reading Red Rising but couldn’t get into it and I just stopped reading it. Maybe I was not in the right mood for it, I might give it a second opportunity.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Outlander for the win! πŸ™‚ Favorite book ever. I gave up on the Mara Dyer books as of #2 — just couldn’t bring myself to care any more. Looks like a great mix among your favorites!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Outlander was so amazing 😍 have you read all the books in the series? I’m only on book 3 so far.
      I loved book 1 of Mara Dyer and I was really into book 2 but the ball was dropped on book 3 πŸ˜”

      Like

      1. They weave together. Chronologically, they’re pretty much all set within the years covered by Voyager, but you don’t have to drop everything to read them. My recommendation is just make sure you read at least some of the LJ books before An Echo In The Bone, because that’s when there starts to be a lot of character cross-over.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

