Empire of Storms review: featuring Sailor Moon gifs!

28260587

Empire of Storms
by Sarah J Maas
hardcover
693 pgs
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars
❤ ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

Synopsis via Goodreads:

The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don’t.

As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.

Aelin’s journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?

 


My thoughts:

giphy (2)

Alliances were forged.

Bridges were mended.

Everyone has a part to play in

Empire of Storms

Omg! I loved this so much! Even though this book broke my heart into a million tiny little pieces and quite possibly killed my soul.

Sarah J Maas is a brilliant writer, from start to finish this book was action packed, gripping, and everything came together at the end so nicely.

But at the end, I was near destroyed. IRL I face planted on my bed and proceeded to have a mix of mental breakdown and panic attack. This book crushed my spirit and soul.

giphy-4

 I will say that the book does have a bit of a slower pace, there’s a lot of build up throughout the story that sets off the events at the end, in that aspect it’s frustrating to read a 700 page book that’s mostly just building up for the events that will take place in the last 75 or so pages. On the bright side, this book is very detail oriented and I love when there are lots of details.

Okay let’s talk about the ships:

giphy-6

Aelin and Rowan of course. I wasn’t really on this ship until they secured their bond, but I love how everything played out between them.

Lysandra and Aedion- Yes this is my favorite ship of the whole damn series! I freaking love these two so much and I love seeing them together and I really hope that we can see more of them in the last book and maybe a novella…*fingers crossed*

Dorian and Manon- No. Not about this ship at all. I do enjoy the lust filled scenes between them but as a relationship? No, I don’t like that idea at all.


This ending, though.

There were so many things that I did not see coming and I was sitting on my couch and my face probably looked like this.
giphy-7

any doubts I might have been having for this installment were shoved aside as I raced to finish this book the fastest way I could. I can’t wait for the next book. Can it just be published already???

giphy-9

Leave a Reply

