The Boy Most Likely To: Review

20160929_215151

The Boy Most Likely To
by Huntley Fitzpatrick
paperback
448 pages
my rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

The romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han.

With bonus Jace and Samantha content in the paperback!

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.


My thoughts:

Earlier this year I decided to pick up My Life Next Door and I loved it! I couldn’t stop reading the book at all. I fell in love with all the characters and couldn’t get enough of two characters in particular and by the time I finished reading My Life Next Door, I had just one question. What happened with Tim and Alice?

This book gave me that answer.

I had just finished Crooked Kingdom and was still feeling a bit in shock over the ending, however, I did not want to fall into a reading slump. I decided to pick up this book because I had heard it was cute and fluffy, I figured it would be perfect to try and battle an oncoming reading slump with this book. And it really helped.

The Boy Most Likely To takes place a couple weeks after My Life Next Door ended and everyone is still dealing with the consequences of the situation from MLND. While this was a cute and fluffy read, there were some serious things thrown into the mix and it really enhanced the story.

My favorite parts were some tension filled yet semi-awkward flirting scenes between Tim and Alice and I loved them so much! I couldn’t get enough of those. Those are my favorite flirting scenes; a little awkward and filled with romantic tension. Delightful.

These characters had some of the best character development I’ve seen in a long time! Watching Tim grow up and start to get his shit together was so great to see, what was even better to see was his desire to become a better person and not for Alice or a girl but for himself and for the situation he found himself in.

Watching Alice learn and realize that she doesn’t have to be in control all the time and that she doesn’t have to be a ballbuster all the time was great for her character development.  I loved watching these two people come together and improve themselves and their lives.

While I won’t talk about the ending, I will say that the ending did not end the way that I wanted it to! I’m impressed by how well Fitzpatrick laid out the big situation and how conflicted I was about how I wanted it to turn out. One on hand there was the responsible ending that I should have been rooting for all along but no, I wanted ending B and I was so conflicted about it. It probably would have been irresponsible and impractical but I really wanted it so badly.

The storyline was insane and I am dying to talk to someone about it but I don’t want to give anything away because it was just wonderfully done. I just highly recommend this, I would also recommend reading My Life Next Door first because there are events mentioned and discussed in Boy Most Likely To that took place in My Life Next Door.

2 thoughts on “The Boy Most Likely To: Review

  1. Great review! I loved this book too and really, really enjoyed the character development we saw in Tim and Alice. Huntley Fitzpatrick is so great at creating flawed but likable characters, and I really liked seeing these two together. 💓

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

