Crooked Kingdom: A Review

*Note* Crooked Kingdom is the sequel to Six of Crows; if you haven't read SoC 
please don't read any further and risk spoiling yourself.

20160929_214634

Crooked Kingdom
by Leigh Bardugo
hardcover
560 pages
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

When you can’t beat the odds, change the game.

Kaz Brekker and his crew have just pulled off a heist so daring even they didn’t think they’d survive. But instead of divvying up a fat reward, they’re right back to fighting for their lives. Double-crossed and badly weakened, the crew is low on resources, allies, and hope. As powerful forces from around the world descend on Ketterdam to root out the secrets of the dangerous drug known as jurda parem, old rivals and new enemies emerge to challenge Kaz’s cunning and test the team’s fragile loyalties. A war will be waged on the city’s dark and twisting streets―a battle for revenge and redemption that will decide the fate of the Grisha world.


Shhh!

…Did you hear that? It was the sound of the broken pieces of my heart falling to the ground.

1 book
560 pages
Multiple combinations of 26 letters.

That was all it took to break me.

giphy-3


 

I just finished CK about 30 minutes ago and I don’t quite now what to do with my life just yet. I feel like I’m more or less in shock.

giphy-2


Okay so, let’s try to get some coherent thoughts going:

First things first, the writing and plot for this book were phenomenal! Everything came together so beautifully, I can’t even begin to fathom how Bardugo manages to keep all of her plot points straight. The weaving of the events and the backstories is pure genius.

Bardugo is a writing god and I bow down to her. #Queen

I was so happy to reunite with my babies! This characters really capture your heart, it’s almost impossible not to love them even though some of them are trying as hard as they can to make you hate them *cough cough Kaz cough*

Sorry about that I had something in my throat.

One of my favorite parts of Six of Crows, were the characters, I feel in love with all of them so quickly and all of my favorite characters remained the same. Inej is still my number 1 favorite and I was constantly nervous for her and Nina.

Along with the precious characters, there were also some amazing appearances from the Grisha trilogy that made me so ecstatic! I was jumping for joy when I got to that part of the book.

giphy-5


Okay. Happy time over.
Now it’s time to talk about the elephant in the room.

The heartbreak.

giphy-4

Yes, there was a lot of heartbreak happening towards the end. For the last 50 pages or so there was a steady stream of tears flowing down my face. Then when I finished I just started sobbing. When my bf looked at me and asked what was going on, I burst into sobs telling him what had happened and then I just wandered around my house feeling so lost.

I can honestly say that I didn’t know what to do after finishing Crooked Kingdom. I just want to sit and eat my feelings and grief while watching more Gilmore Girls.

I can’t think about reading another book right now. To be honest, I kind of want to reread Six of Crows.

I really really really hope that Bardugo writes another book in the Grishaverse, the ending just didn’t feel like goodbye if you know what I mean. I know she’s planning on taking a break from the Grishaverse but I have to have hope that we can revisit these characters again someday.

giphy-8

 


Until next time:

No Mourners 

No Funerals 

13 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom: A Review

  1. OMG, I LOVE YOUR GIFS! I feel for this review because I too went to work the next day and was like ‘am I actually expected to be a functioning human today???!!!” LOL. I don’t think any book is going to top Crooked Kingdom for a long time for me and I’m pretty okay with that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

