September Wrap Up

20160929_212843

September wasn’t the greatest month for me, I only read 8 books, and on average I read close to twice that.

Actually, I went back and read through some of my previous wrap ups and every 3rd one says something along the lines of “Gah, I had another reading slump to deal with this month.” So maybe its not me and not the month, but maybe it’s the year. 2016 has not been a good reading year for me so far. Every other month I’m slumpy :/

Despite that I am hoping to read like crazy for the next three months. I really want to complete my Goodreads challenge and my book goals for 2016, there are only three months left and I think I can do it. I am super competitive against myself and I work harder under pressure/deadlines so I think I got this!

Lets get on to the wrap up!


20160929_213455Dreamology
by Lucy Keating
my rating: 1 out of 5 stars
my review

I did not care for this at all, in fact, I lowered it from a 2-star review to a 1-star review because I thought the 2 stars were too generous. *Wow catty much?* Its just call it honesty.

 

20160929_213425A Monster Calls
by Patrick Ness
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I loved this! Loved! Loved! Loved!

 

20160929_213125Empire of Storms
by Sarah J Maas
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Overall I enjoyed this, it was a bit longer then it needed to be but I have some issues with the ending, I really don’t want to spoil anything so that’s all I am going to say.

 

20160929_213336The Beginning of Everything
by Robyn Schneider
my rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I think I was expecting more from this but it was kind of boring and I don’t care for the “boo-who poor me” type of characters.

 

20160929_213308My Life with The Walter Boys
by Ali Novak
my rating: 2 out of 5 stars

Again another 2 star book, this just kind of uneventful.

 

20160929_213404The Knife of Never Letting Go
by Patrick Ness
my rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

Overall I enjoyed this alright, I had issues with the grammar and the speech style, but once I got into the story I really got into it.

 

20160929_213238Chasers of the Light
by Tyler Knott Gregson
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

This was beautiful! I’ve been following Tyler on tumblr for a couple years now, I’m pretty sure that this was the first book I’ve ever pre-ordered. I love this mans poems and the way that he sees the world. His poems are magical, romantic, and passionate all at once.

I loved this and I would highly recommend. I need to get his other book asap.

 

20160929_213442The Absolutely True Diary of A Part-Time Indian
by Sherman Alexie
my rating: 4 out of 5 stars

This was so cute yet kind of heartbreaking at the same time.

Side story time:

I feel like an idiot because when I first read the synopsis I misread Spokane as Skokomish, so I was all excited thinking that the setting of this book was 30 minutes away from me and I thought that was the coolest thing! Then I started reading it and after seeing the word “Spokane” a few times and then it hit me.Β In case you’re wondering, Spokane is nowhere near me, it’s on the complete other side of the damn state! Its 350 miles away…so you could say I was a little off when I said that this book takes place near where I live.

Back to the story! Cute, heartbreaking, and deals with racism. Has been frequently challenged because the main character talks about masturbation *gasp dirty word*


Thats all I read in the month of September, a bit of a slow month for me but I’m hoping to do better in October!

What was your favorite book of September? Mine was probably Empire of Storms and Dreamology was my least favorite.

 

 

3 thoughts on “September Wrap Up

  1. I am currently reading A Monster Calls right now! I am only about 50 pages into it, but so far it’s really interesting. I can’t wait to get some real free time and just get completely lost in the book. I think it’s going to be awesome!
    I loved the Knife of Never Letting Go so much! I read the sequel and I didn’t like it as much as the first book, sadly. I still need to finish the last book in the series though. I still want to see how it all ends even if I didn’t care of the second book as much.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

