This Savage Song review

img_20160705_111132.jpg

This Savage Song
by Victoria Schwab
Hardcover
427 pages
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

There’s no such thing as safe.

Kate Harker wants to be as ruthless as her father. After five years and six boarding schools, she’s finally going home to prove that she can be.

August Flynn wants to be human. But he isn’t. He’s a monster, one that can steal souls with a song. He’s one of the three most powerful monsters in a city overrun with them. His own father’s secret weapon.

Their city is divided.

Their city is crumbling.

Kate and August are the only two who see both sides, the only two who could do something.

But how do you decide to be a hero or a villain when it’s hard to tell which is which?


Victoria did it again!

Another Schwab masterpiece!

I was hooked reading this, from start to finish, it gripped me and the only time I put it down was when I had 30 pages left and knew that I had to wait another year for Our Dark Duet. But that hesitation was very short lived as I devoured those pages as quickly as I could.

The characters were super interesting, August is a precious cupcake that I couldn’t help falling in love with! And Kate was so endearing I just wanted to be there and comfort her as everything was happening, not that she would let me but still.

P.S. I really want her metal nails, they sounded super badass!

I only wish that I had a pronunciation guide for the monsters, I feel like I was saying everything wrong in my head and now I can never have a verbal conversation with someone about the book because I will be saying “Sunai”wrong. I also really want to hear someone sing the lullaby to a slow, dark, and creepy beat. I seriously get chills thinking about it.

I loved how the plot progressed, towards the beginning of the book I was thinking that maybe the plot was progressing too quick, there was still 300 pages to go and a lot of things are happening but when I reflect on it, it ended up progressing well for how much happens in the story.

One thing that I really love and I still think about whenever my thoughts drift to This Savage Song is that I love how Schwab was inspired by the violence that is everywhere in our world and she wrote this amazing story from it. In her world, violence created the monsters, I really appreciated that detail in the story.

It’s been a month or so since I’ve read This Savage Song but I already want to reread it. I can’t wait for Our Dark Duet to be published. At this point, I feel like my life is going to be on hold until I get A Conjuring of Light and Our Dark Duet. Then I’m going to go deep into mourning because those are the finals books for the trilogy and the duology.

2 thoughts on “This Savage Song review

  1. Isn’t August just the most precious little cupcake out there? I want him as my little brother so bad and YES to Kate’s nails. I am obsessed with this book and yet, somehow, it has completely passed me by that it’s only a duology. I NEED THE NEXT BOOK THOUGH!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

