Clipped Wings Review

61xs4aHnu6L._SX315_BO1,204,203,200_

Clipped Wings
by Helena Hunting
paperback
391 pages
my rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

An emotional love story that follows the touch-and-go relationship of Hayden and Tenley; two young people who desperately want to love and be loved but are afraid to completely let go of their pasts.

As Hayden and Tenley navigate their newfound but slightly unstable relationship, they want to trust each other, but Hayden is hiding a dark and shameful past that he doesn’t ever want Tenley to find out about. And Tenley has secrets of her own that could make Hayden run away forever. When Tenley asks Hayden to put a beautifully elaborate tattoo across her back, the two form what they thought was an unshakeable bond. But when Tenley’s past shows up on her doorstep, will Hayden stand by her side…or run?

My Thoughts:

591575

(*Not my graphic*)

“Everyone has scars, Tenley. If we’re lucky, they’re only on the outside”

Warning: there will be lots of me man gushing over Hayden.

Hayden is gorgeous and sexy and hot and I’m head over heels in love with him. I love when male characters are tattoo artists. He is totally my new book boyfriend. Not only is the man extremely sexy with all his tattoos and piercings, but he also reads! Hunting was not playing fair when she wrote out his character because
A. I’m convinced that Hayden is my soul mate and
B. Hayden was perfection.
#Bae

giphy (6)

It really wasn’t fair not only was he incredibly sexy with his ink and piercings and straight forward flirting but also he was tender and playful with a kitten!!! And the man drives a 68 Camaro! My heart!

I wanted to dive into the book and steal him away for myself!

giphy (10)
^Me chasing after Hayden^

Now if we’re going, to be honest with each other, which I hope we are 😉 I didn’t care about Tenley at all for the first 50 pages or so. I just wanted more of Hayden.

But then, Tenley broke my heart way open; the girl straight up obliterated it! She is adorable and loveable and she will make you feel all the feels!

giphy (7)

Both Hayden and Tenley have extremely tragic backstories and I have a feeling that Inked Armor is going to be even more heartbreaking, I’m really hoping that book 2 will go more into Hayden past and we can learn a little bit more about him.

This book is basically composed of three things: A very sexy man who I have a giant crush on, lots of heartbreak and grief, and smut. I love it!

Yes, there is a good amount of smut, if you arent comfortable with those kinds of scenes, I would warn you against reading this.

One of my weaknesses in NA is when on of the characters is a tattoo artist, I love those scenes where one person is getting inked and the two start connecting; for me, those scenes are so intimate and sensual.

The only thing I didn’t like was the possessiveness Hayden had for Tenley, I don’t like when guys are possessive IRL and I don’t like seeing it written out and romanticized. That was a huge issue I had with Beautiful Disaster. However what made up for it was the self-awareness and realization that being so possessive is not okay and that he didn’t need to act like that.

So yeah I wanna talk more about Hayden but I’ll save that for Inked Armor’s review.

Has anyone else read this? If so I’d love to have someone to talk with.
If not, I encourage you to pick this up 😉

 

 

One thought on “Clipped Wings Review

Leave a Reply

