July Wrap Up

TBR (1)

20160803_200420

 

20160803_200453

The Lost Hero
by Rick Riordan
my rating 3 out of 5 stars

There is just something with me and Rick Riordan, I don’t think his books are for me, I didn’t love Percy Jackson and I didn’t care for book 1 of this series either, I still plan on continuing on, but this was so slow and I had to force myself to keep reading at so many points

20160803_200633

Dragonfly in Amber
by Diana Gabaldon
my rating 5 out of 5 stars

I did it! I finally finished DiA! Cue happy book dance! Once I got really absorbed into the story I didn’t want to stop reading it at all.

20160803_200501

Dreams of Gods and Monsters
by Laini Taylor
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I heard so many good things about the 3rd book in this trilogy and I was a little nervous going into it but I shouldn’t have been, this was beautiful and a perfect masterpiece! If you haven’t read Daughter of Smoke and Bone yet I highly recommend picking it up.

20160803_200624

This Savage Song
by Victoria Schwab
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Another Victoria Schwab masterpiece, I cannot praise this enough, I love her writing and especially her worldbuilding I always feel like I’m there with her characters.

download

Open Road Summer
by Emery Lord
my rating: 4 out of 5 stars

After reading this Savage Song I was craving a little bit of a contemporary read and decided to pick up Open Road Summer and I really enjoyed it, there was a great friendship between the girls and a fun romance, the MC was super badass and I loved it.

20160803_200609

Point of Retreat
by Colleen Hoover
my rating: 3 out of 5 stars

I was craving me some CoHo and decided to pick up Point of Retreat, now I did not like Slammed, the type of romance drove me nuts but the relationship did change a bit and that made it easier for me to get through this. There are still some parts that did irritate the crap out of me but overall it was okay.

20160803_200522

Red Rising
by Pierce Brown
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Wow. Just wow, this book blew me away, it was so good! I would recommend having Golden Son nearby to pick up asap after reading RR, seriously, the wait to get my hands on Golden Son is killing me!

20160803_200559

Hopeless
by Colleen Hoover
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Red Rising put me in a bit of a reading slump so I picked up Hopeless and I am so glad I did, I was hesitant to read it since I’ve seen a lot of mixed reviews but I loved it so much!! It was heartbreaking and…well mostly just heartbreaking.

what can I say? I like to feel the feels.

20160803_200543

Losing Hope
by Colleen Hoover
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Oh, look more heartbreak! Seriously, this was more heartbreaking than Hopeless, I didn’t think it was possible but it was.

18593175

Finding Cinderella
by Colleen Hoover
my rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Overall this was just alright, it didn’t really do anything for me but it was nice to see more of Six.

29569157

Zenith
by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsey Cummings
my rating: 2 out of 5 stars

I wanted to like this, I really really wanted to like this, but mostly because it’s Sasha you know? But yeah I did not enjoy this.

20160803_200533

Of Poseidon
by Anna Banks
my rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

While I was vacationing in Hawaii I decided that I needed a mermaid read to read while I was on the beach and I thought this was alright, I didn’t love it, I didn’t hate it. Just meh.

28678119

Paper Princess
by Erin Watt
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

OMG OMG OMG!!! Loved this! Ari over at the daydreamingbookworm has been raving about this and psyching people up for Broken Prince and I decided that I needed to read this immediately. I was going to wait until book 3 came out but I couldn’t wait.

The-Royals-Broken-Prince-Erin-Watt-Elle-Kennedy-Jen-Frederick

Broken Prince
by Erin Watt
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Just as good as book 1! Seriously go read these!

Completed Audiobooks

51MziCJYp6L._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

Snow Like Ashes
by Sarah Raasch
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

I had forgotten how much I liked this world and how much I liked Meera! The narrator was great and overall I had no complaints about this.

Favorites of the Month

Dreams of Gods and Monsters
This Savage Song
Red Rising
Hopeless

 

 

 

Photo credit for graphic
<a href=’http://www.freepik.com/free-vector/watercolor-frame-background-in-turquoise-tones_822530.htm’>Designed by Freepik</a>
One thought on “July Wrap Up

  1. I felt the same way about Of Poseidon (and the rest of the trilogy, to be honest). It was an okay read for when I needed a mermaid fix in the summer, but it’s not something I would return to or highly recommend to others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

