Open Road Summer Review

download
Open Road Summer
by Emery Lord
ebook
342 pages
my rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

After breaking up with her bad-news boyfriend, Reagan O’Neill is ready to leave her rebellious ways behind. . . and her best friend, country superstar Lilah Montgomery, is nursing a broken heart of her own.

Fortunately, Lilah’s 24-city tour is about to kick off, offering a perfect opportunity for a girls-only summer of break-up ballads and healing hearts. But when Matt Finch joins the tour as its opening act, his boy-next-door charm proves difficult for Reagan to resist, despite her vow to live a drama-free existence.

This summer, Reagan and Lilah will navigate the ups and downs of fame and friendship as they come to see that giving your heart to the right person is always a risk worth taking.

A fresh new voice in contemporary romance, Emery Lord’s gorgeous writing hits all the right notes.


My thoughts:

Last month I read When We Collided by Emery Lord and I loved it! So when I saw Open Road Summer by Emery Lord on Amazon Kindle for 1.99 I had to scoop it up. I was craving a cute contemporary read and this was perfect for that craving.

First I loved Reagan, she a badass, sassy, and tough as nails character that captured my heart. I love female characters like her, I would want to be on her squad.

Second, the friendship in this book was just perfection, Dee and Reagan were so supportive and understanding of each other. They knew how to help each other without having to ask “How can I make this better?” They are friendship goals.

The writing and story plot was great; the story moved along at a great pace and the intriguing details unraveled in a way that kept you hooked throughout the story. I also loved how this story showed the stress that being famous and in the spotlight puts someone in.

The only thing that annoyed me was how obvious the romance was and yet Reagan kept denying it. I found that to be really frustrating but yet it was something that I could look past because I’ve done something like that, straight up denied having a crush yet flirting with him nonstop.

It reminded me of the song from Hercules, I wont say I’m in love.

*
*
*


************************************************
Spoilery

Do not read if you havent read Open Road Summer.

Skip Ahead

If anyone has already read this book, there’s a moment with Reagan and Matt at the end that had me dying with laughter because I could see me doing that to someone.

If you’ve read it: there’s a moment involving the two of them and a car. I freaking loved that moment so much. Am I alone in that? Or was unnecessary and overly bitchy?

*************************************************


*
*
*

So if you’re craving a quick summery contemporary novel, I would definitely recommend Open Road Summer

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Open Road Summer Review

Leave a Reply

