Top Ten Tuesday Books that make me want to travel

ttt

June 28: Freebie Week
Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.

So this is freebie week for Top Ten Tuesday, we are able to talk about anything and everything book related, so I choose to talk about a list that I’ve been thinking about a lot recently. Books that make me want to travel. I love traveling, I haven’t done a lot traveling in my life, but I’m working on changing that. Growing up I used to have a world map tacked above my bed and I had push pinsΒ covering it, there are so many places that I want to go.

I don’t know about you but when I read a book set in another city/state/country/continent I really want to go there and explore it for myself.

So here is my list of places that books have made me wantΒ to buy a ticket and travel πŸ™‚

Real places:

20160229_224159

Outlander- Scotland

How can you read Outlander and not want to go to Scotland? My main issue is that I want to go to Scotland in 1743 and find my own sexy Scottish Highlander πŸ˜‰ but I will gladly go to modern day Scotland.

The bf and I are talking about planning a trip to Scotland, so far the plan is to fly to London and spend a couple days there, go up to Edinburgh and spend some days there, explore the Highlands and Isle of Skye, back to Edinburgh, fly to Dublin Ireland then fly home. This is not happening soon but maybe next year *fingers crossed*

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Daughter of Smoke and Bone- Prague

While DoSB initially made me want to go to Prague some additional travel books and looking at attractions and architecture has really made me want to visit Prague.

infernal-devices-covers1

The Infernal Devices- London

Again with the whole time travel issue, Victorian era London would be cool to be able to visit!

20151028_080456

The Bronze Horseman- Russia

Don’t worry I actually wouldn’t want to go to WW2 Russia, but I would still like to go to modern day Russia, preferably in the summer πŸ˜‰

Anna-and-the-French-Kiss-HD

Anna and the French Kiss- France

Ever since I could remember I’ve always and forever wanted to travel to France or Paris. I love the french language and I am learning it in my spare time just because I want to. Traveling to France has always been a bucket list.

51RZZTTSG3L._AC_UL320_SR210,320_

Lola and the Boy Next Door- San Francisco

This is one of my goals for 2017, even if I can only take a long weekend quick trip to San Francisco I would be so thrilled!

20151201_182111

November 9- New York City

Another place I’ve wanted to go to for as long as I could remember and it might actually happen this year, my uncle and I were talking about flying to NYC in December to see family over there.

20160619_222912

Days of Blood and Starlight- Morocco

This one also is influenced by Casablanca, I would love to go to Morocco and see the architecture, art, and food. I’d really like to go there.

Honorary Fictional Mentions

9780547928227_p0_v1_s260x420

The Hobbit- Middle Earth/ New Zealand

I would love to go to Middle Earth but only if I can be an elf! That would be beyond amazing!

Also how amazing would it be to go to New Zealand and do the hobbit tour and stay in a hobbit hole?! Dream goal is to stay in a hobbit house!

20151214_194049

Harry Potter- The Wizarding World

NoΒ explanation needed I’m sure.


 

Does reading make anyone else want to travel? Where are some places that you would like to travel to? Along with this list I’d also like to go to Barcelona, Thailand, Australia, and China.

18 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday Books that make me want to travel

  1. I really like the topic you chose for the TTT freebie week. Books always give me a terrible case of wanderlust. I’ve especially wanted to visit London for a really long time and after I read TID my need to travel there just completely intensified. I hope you make it to the places you want to travel to next year! πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. Prague – yes! Go there! I love this city. I’ve been there a few times already and I intend to go back. It has a certain magical feel to it, especially in the off season when there’s just a bit less tourists around.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ooooh you shouldn’t have asked the second question πŸ˜›

        But ok, I’ll restrain myself. After you’re done with all the “standard” touristic stuff (and you want to do these and pay for all the attractions because they are worth it) you should really check the little, but beautiful and surprisingly peaceful Zahrada Na Valech (Garden on the Ramparts). The entrances to these are just behind the castle and somewhere from the street bellow which name I can never remember, yet can always find it – there’s a Polish embassy nearby. Remember to take a book there because you’ll want to sit there for a while. There’s a view and there are very few people even in the middle of the season.

        Other than that – simply wonder around the old town. Step off from the known tourist routs. The building there might not be renovated for the tourists, but that’s where you’ll find the magic. Let yourself be lost.
        If you like coloring – get yourself a set of Koh-i-noor color pencils :). You’ll love them. And since they’re produced more or less around, you’ll have a valid souvenir πŸ˜‰

        Remember to go to the Charles Bridge at night and watch the Castle and the city light. Sometimes you might catch a firework or light & music show – check if there will be one while you’re there.

        Oh, and check out some of the free city tours – they are usually organized by students or other citizens and they are a nice way to find out a bit about the city without the actual guide. If you like the tour, simply leave them a tip at the end. And wear comfortable shoes for that.

        As for the season? Well, the vacation seasons is when it’s worm, so it basically starts in June and goes through till the end of September.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I recently read the Anna and the French Kiss series and I suddenly have a desire to visit Paris! Also, I’ve been to Scotland before, but reading Outlander earlier this year just made me pine to go back! πŸ˜†

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

