When We Collided review

20160601_210400

When We Collided
by Emery Lord
hardcover
337 pages
my rating 5 out of 5 stars


Synopsis via Goodreads:

We are seventeen and shattered and still dancing. We have messy, throbbing hearts, and we are stronger than anyone could ever know…

Jonah never thought a girl like Vivi would come along.

Vivi didn’t know Jonah would light up her world.

Neither of them expected a summer like this…a summer that would rewrite their futures.

In an unflinching story about new love, old wounds, and forces beyond our control, two teens find that when you collide with the right person at just the right time, it will change you forever.


My thoughts:

I. Am. In.Love.

I don’t want to say that this book was a roller coaster, in a way it was but in the sense that it took my emotions up and then crashed down, so it was like at the beginning of a roller coaster where you slowly make your way to the top but then you crash down. This book started out so cute and light but then there was a gradual turn of events and it became so deep and dark, it was a total 180 but in a slow way. I didn’t see it coming until it was practically under my nose! I freaking loved it, at the beginning I was all giddy with big smiles but at the end I was shell shocked and near tears!

*Side note* this book made me want to cry, like massively bawl like a baby, but it was early in the morning when I was reading this and the BF was still asleep and I didn’t want to wake him up to me crying because of a book. That’s already happened once with I’ll Give You the Sun and I didn’t want to do that to him again, so by some miracle I actually held it together!*

I really enjoyed the writing, the story felt so real like I could step through the pages of it and interact with everyone.

These characters! These wonderful, heartbreaking characters! They felt so real to me and their situations felt so real and I really liked that. I felt like I could step through the pages and give Jonah and Vivi hugs and I wanted to so many times!

I loved Jonah, from the very first page that he is introduced on, I just fell in love with him. He was so heartbreaking and passionate. I have a weakness for the strong silent types and he definitely fit that profile. My heart melted for him so many times.

Vivi was amazing and passionate in a different way from Jonah, she was so full of life and love. I loved her artistic sense, her style, her philosophies on life and how she saw the world.

The only thing that bugged me was that Vivi’s character was so close to Finch from All the Bright Places, I almost felt like they could have been twins in a way. If you’ve read both of these then you’ll probably know what it is that I mean.

This book was everything: adorable, quirky, endearing, heartbreaking, and so much more. I loved every single minute of it and I would definitely recommend it!


Would recommend if you liked:

20160107_204355

All The Bright Places

2 thoughts on “When We Collided review

Leave a Reply

