Do you believe in Horoscopes? A Review of the Star Touched Queen

25203675

The Star-Touched Queen
by Roshani Chokshi
Hardcover
342 pages
Book 1 of 2
my rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:

Fate and fortune. Power and passion. What does it take to be the queen of a kingdom when you’re only seventeen?

Maya is cursed. With a horoscope that promises a marriage of death and destruction, she has earned only the scorn and fear of her father’s kingdom. Content to follow more scholarly pursuits, her whole world is torn apart when her father, the Raja, arranges a wedding of political convenience to quell outside rebellions. Soon Maya becomes the queen of Akaran and wife of Amar. Neither roles are what she expected: As Akaran’s queen, she finds her voice and power. As Amar’s wife, she finds something else entirely: Compassion. Protection. Desire…

But Akaran has its own secrets—thousands of locked doors, gardens of glass, and a tree that bears memories instead of fruit. Soon, Maya suspects her life is in danger. Yet who, besides her husband, can she trust? With the fate of the human and Otherworldly realms hanging in the balance, Maya must unravel an ancient mystery that spans reincarnated lives to save those she loves the most…including herself.


My thoughts:

20160531_205609

Holy perfection, I freaking loved this book so much, I already want to reread it and I just finished it, a favorite of 2016 for sure.

This is a standalone with a companion novel being published in 2017

if you can’t tell by my heavily tabbed book, I couldn’t get enough of this story.

1282786204310

The first thing that I will say is that the writing is beautiful! I cannot gush about this enough. If you’ve read Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor and liked her style of writing then I would highly recommend The Star-Touched Queen. I cannot get over the writing style, it is pretty. I have no other way to say it that doesn’t do it justice. Pure and simple, the writing is pretty!

The Star Touched Queen is described as a Hades and Persephone story embodied with Indian folklore and mythology. I would definitely second that statement.

A personal recommendation: While reading this I was listening to the Assassins Creed 2 score and I feel like it enhanced my reading experience, it added to the suspense in all the right places and really seemed to go well with the book.

The Star-Touched Queen is about a princess named Maya, at her birth her horoscope predicted a marriage that promised death and destruction, because of that everyone in her father’s palace treated her horribly, people would spit on her shadow and talk about her as if she wasn’t there. Her father arranges a political marriage for Maya, but despite all odds and logic, she decides to run away with this mysterious stranger and marry him.

One thing I really loved was the culture aspects and rituals and that is something I want to see more of in diverse books and I am glad to see that there is a demand for more diversity.

I have two negative points but they didnt change my perspective of the book in anyway.

1.) I don’t want to say that Maya was relatable, I didn’t really connect with her in that way, and at a couple points I found her to be kind of annoying but overall I still liked her.

2.) There is some insta-love, but it didnt really bother me. Thinking back I realize that its an thing that a lot of people dont like.

favorite quotes:

“I know your soul. Everything else is just an ornament.”

“I see only night and smoke, dreams and glass, embers and wings. And I would not have you any other way.”

“I promised you the moon for your throne and stars to wear in your hair,” said Amar, gesturing inside. “And I always keep my promises.”

“My star-touched queen,” he said softly, as if he was remembering something from long ago. “I would break the world to give you what you want.”

“I love you,” he murmured into my hair. “You are my night and stars, the fate I would fix myself to in any life.”

Do you see what I mean? Roshani’s writing is so pretty!

I would recommend this if you enjoyed:

Daughter of Smoke and Bone
The Wrath and the Dawn

4 thoughts on “Do you believe in Horoscopes? A Review of the Star Touched Queen

  1. I have been thinking about ordering this book for a while now. I just wasn’t sure if I would enjoy it or not. You basically completely sold me! 😀 Definitely getting it soon (meaning I’ll go order it today)! Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

