May Book Haul

20160530_153822

I was bad this month. I was attempting to do the Project 5 thing, where I have to read 5 books before I can buy 1…as you can see, that did not work.

I have no self-control, and Barnes and Nobles bargain area had too many good purchases and I couldn’t live with myself if I were to pass them up, and the BF just encourages/enables me. Long story short my hands were basically tied 🙂

A Court of Mist and Fury
by Sarah J Maas

I have a funny story about getting A Court of Mist and Fury, this was one of my most anticipated books of the year. I even had a countdown on my blog. So of course, I had it preordered and Bloomsbury had a cool pre-order deal where if you sent in proof of your pre-order they sent you a tote bag related to A Court of Mist and Fury, so Sarah J Maas was doing a book signing in Seattle and I went to that. It was a ticketed event so I bought two tickets, one for me and one for the BF, and a copy of the book came with the ticket. So I have three copies of it. I’m thinking about doing a giveaway because I don’t need 3 copies so if you haven’t read A Court of Mist and Fury and you want to but haven’t been able to get a copy yet, leave a comment and let me know you would be interested in a giveaway.

The Love that Split the World
By Emily Henry

At first, I wasn’t overly interested in this book but then I read the synopsis and it gripped me, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it and wanting to read it so I had to get it.

The Raven King
by Maggie Stiefvater

Sadly I am not caught up on the series yet but now I can sit down and marathon everything.

Inked Armor
by Helena Hunting

Earlier this year in January, I bought Clipped Wings which is book 1 of this duology at Barnes and Noble in the bargain section. So when I saw Inked Armor I had to pick it up as well.

Life after Life
By Kate Atkinson

I remember seeing this a couple years ago and being really interested in it and I saw it in the bargain area in Barnes and Noble, and you know the story, I couldn’t pass it up.

My Heart and Other Black Holes
by Jasmine Warga

This sounds heartbreaking and thought provoking and I wanted a read like that.

The One and Only Ivan
by Katherine Applegate

I’ve been wanting this ever since PeruseProject showed it in one of her haul videos.

Hopeless
by Colleen Hoover

It’s CoHo. Nuff said.

The Problem with Forever
by Jennifer L Armentrout

This synopsis gripped my mind. I needed it immediately.

When We Collided
by Emery Lord

I’ve been craving some contemporary books and I’ve heard amazing things about this one.

Starflight
by Melissa Landers

I am under the impression that this has space pirates and I needed it because of that.

The Cuckoos Calling
by Robert Galbraith/ JK Rowling

This pretty hardcover was 6.98 dollars at B&N in the bargain area and I needed it. I actually passed it up once and regretted it almost immediately so I had to go back and get it.

The Silkworm
by Robert Galbraith/ JK Rowling

Again it was 6.98 and again I regretted not buying it the first time I saw it so I had to go back and get it.

The Star Touched Queen
by Roshani Chokshi

I had heard so many good things about it and I simply needed it.

The Queen of the Tearling *duplicate buy*

20160531_210426

Omg story time! So last year I bought a paperback copy of the Queen of the Tearling and started reading it, got about a quarter of the way through and had to put it down and haven’t picked it up since but I really want to read it. But I bought the Invasion of the Tearling in hardcover because I needed it and see again, I have no self-control, and I hated the different formats, I hated the paperback cover and everything. I’ve been wanting to replace my paperback copy with a hardcover but it was around 17 dollars on Amazon so I kept putting off. So one day when the BF and I were looking around Barnes and Noble, the BF came up to me saying look at this pretty book, lo and behold, it was a hardcover of the Queen of the Tearling for 5 dollars. FIVE DOLLARS! I had to get it.

And now the BF is my hero because not only did he find a 5 dollar hardcover copy of The Queen of the Tearling but one time he also found the last copy of the illustrated Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone after the bookseller had told me that it was out of stock. He is forever my hero and that is also why I drag him with me every single time I go book shopping. It doesn’t hurt that he also carries all my books for me…


 

So what books did you buy this month?
Do we have any similar books?
Have you read any of these books?

4 thoughts on “May Book Haul

    1. Isnt it hilarious when they do that? every time we pull into the parking lot he reminds me of the book buying ban and says “lets get one maybe two” then when we get into the store he basically says all bets are off and sets me loose lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

