Finding Audrey Review

IMG_0247

Finding Audrey
by Sophie Kinsella
hardcover
286 pages
my rating 4 out of 5 stars

Synopsis via Goodreads

An anxiety disorder disrupts fourteen-year-old Audrey’s daily life. She has been making slow but steady progress with Dr. Sarah, but when Audrey meets Linus, her brother’s gaming teammate, she is energized. She connects with him. Audrey can talk through her fears with Linus in a way she’s never been able to do with anyone before. As their friendship deepens and her recovery gains momentum, a sweet romantic connection develops, one that helps not just Audrey but also her entire family.


 

My Thoughts:

I picked this up for a couple different reasons: I was craving a contemporary read, I had heard that this was a kind of light-hearted and funny and I needed something along those lines, and I knew that the main character suffered from an anxiety problem that based off of the synopsis sounds similar to the anxiety that I have. So I needed to read this.

 

 

Side note: I love the name Audrey, Audrey Hepburn was one of my favorite actresses of all time, I love her movies, and she was such a beautiful person.

Back to the book

First, it was so sweet and funny, I loved the mom’s obsession with video games and computer nonsense, after a while though it became quite tedious that the issue was always going on in the background.

Audrey was an interesting character since her behavior largely revolved around pushing people away I found it hard to form an attachment to her, at the same time I felt myself develop a concern for her right away.

The book was very thought provoking, it showed how people with mental disorders are treated and how people react to them. “Just get over it” or “Snap out of it” or “Don’t be like that” For someone like Audrey who’s diagnosed with Social Anxiety, General Anxiety, and Depressive episodes it not as simple as snapping out of it. I really liked that this book showed that that’s not how it goes. I really enjoyed that Kinsella emphasized that it doesn’t happen like that.

I loved Audrey’s and Linus’ relationship, it was so great how he understood and accepted how she was, and how he found little ways to help ease her back into the world. Although the mere thoughts of her little challenges were enough to start giving me anxiety haha, only a little, though.

I was very satisfied with this ending, I thought everything wrapped up pretty nicely and overall I’m happy I read this book. I really want to explore more YA novels that feature mental disorders.

I would recommend this to anyone else who suffers from anxiety or if you have a friend that suffers from anxiety, and if you love cutesy romances. I would suggest giving this book a shot. It’ll give you an inside look at what anxiety does to someone. It shows you the thoughts anxiety will plant in your head.

 

2 thoughts on “Finding Audrey Review

Leave a Reply

