Waiting on Wednesday 2/17

New WoW

Welcome back to Waiting on Wednesday, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and you talk about books coming out soon that you’re excited about


Okay, so today I need to talk about an upcoming book that I know a lot of us are very excited about.

and that is

Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

13541054

synopsis via Goodreads:

The Shadowhunters of Los Angeles star in the first novel in Cassandra Clare’s newest series, The Dark Artifices, a sequel to the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series. Lady Midnight is a Shadowhunters novel.

It’s been five years since the events of City of Heavenly Fire that brought the Shadowhunters to the brink of oblivion. Emma Carstairs is no longer a child in mourning, but a young woman bent on discovering what killed her parents and avenging her losses.

Together with her parabatai Julian Blackthorn, Emma must learn to trust her head and her heart as she investigates a demonic plot that stretches across Los Angeles, from the Sunset Strip to the enchanted sea that pounds the beaches of Santa Monica. If only her heart didn’t lead her in treacherous directions…

Making things even more complicated, Julian’s brother Mark—who was captured by the faeries five years ago—has been returned as a bargaining chip. The faeries are desperate to find out who is murdering their kind—and they need the Shadowhunters’ help to do it. But time works differently in faerie, so Mark has barely aged and doesn’t recognize his family. Can he ever truly return to them? Will the faeries really allow it?

Glitz, glamours, and Shadowhunters abound in this heartrending opening to Cassandra Clare’s Dark Artifices series.


 

I am very excited for this to come out, I’m really looking forward to seeing a different part of the Shadowhunters World and I am secretly hoping that Jace and Clary show up at least once, hell I will by happy if any of TMI characters make an appearance!

The number one thing I want to talk about though is that this book is 720 pages! Holy Herondale!

No one told me that it was going to be 720 pages!

In case you need an itsy bit of clarification let me explain. City of Heavenly Fire was 720 pages and that hardcover was about the size of a baby. Lady Midnight is only book 1 of a trilogy (I think it’ll be a trilogy) so that means that the rest of the books are only going to get bigger from there.

I mean that typically happens right? Very rarely do books get shorter as the series goes on. The only exception I can think of is the Bloodlines series and it didn’t necessarily get shorter but stayed around the same length, but knowing Cassandra Clares books, I think it’s safe to assume that the rest of the books will get longer. That’s a little intimidating to think about. At least, it is for me, but I’m easily intimidated by big books.

I’m really not to sure how I feel about the cover, it’s pretty, I love the sword and how she’s sinking into the water, it has an overall grim yet ethereal feeling to it that I really do love, but when I first heard about the book this is the cover I saw.

e2509f77d39f9003d3192b2dc6771c51

Even though I know this is a fan art (at least I think it is?) I still really liked it. It matched the Mortal Instruments books, it has a nice warm glow to it and if you look carefully int he background there are faint wings behind her. I just really fell in love with it.


So are you ready for 720 more pages into the Shadowhunter world? I’m excited that it’s going to be set in Los Angeles and that we’ll get to explore a new part of the Shadowhunter world.

7 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday 2/17

  1. Ohmygosh I didn’t expect it to be that long! Yikes! The first book in a series isn’t usually that long! I was expecting maybe 500 at most, haha! I still cannot wait though! Also, I actually really like the cover, although I love the one you’ve shown at the end too, but while it does match The Mortal Instruments, it doesn’t match The Infernal Devices which is slightly off-putting.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I never finished the Mortal Instruments series (oops!) but I really want to finish it. I’m glad to see the author is still making books within the universe (I love series like that) and am excited to see what people think of this book.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

