TTT Most Intimidating Books

Hello everybody

So it’s Tuesday and that means its Top 10 Tuesday! This week’s theme was February 2: Top Ten Historical Settings You Love/ Ten Historical Settings You’d Love To See or Top Futuristic Books You Love/Ten Futuristic Societies I’d Love To Read in Books

I wasn’t really feeling it. I had a handful of ideas but overall I wasn’t really into it, so I went through their list looking for some inspiration. They had a lot of good ideas but this one stuck out the most to me… The Top Ten Most Intimidating Books. Yeah, I got a couple of those, so that’s what I went for this week. I organized this list to ascend by the number of pages, I find these books intimidating because they are enormous. They are all adult fiction and as we all know a 600-page adult fiction book is way different than a 600 page YA book.

I get intimidated reading bigger books because I feel like I’m not making any progress, when it takes me a week to read one book then that means I’m not reading anything else in that week, Im not very active here on my book, and sometimes it’s discouraging to be reading so much but feeling like you’re not really getting anywhere within the book.

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss
672 pages

20151108_140458

Now I know that doesn’t sound like a lot but my edition of Outlander was 627 and that took me about a week to read. I’m not exactly eager to jump back into a long book like that, but at the same time, I kind of am.

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte 
688 pages

8675358

I get intimidated reading classics but I really want to read more gothic romance and this is one of the most popular gothic romances along with Wuthering Heights.

Dangerous Women edited by George RR Martin 
736 pages

17279560

This is an anthology from a bunch of amazing authors all about dangerous women, it sounds awesome but it’s huge!

Rogues edited by George RR Martin 
832 pages

20168816

It’s similar to Dangerous Women in the fact that it’s an anthology with a bunch of amazing authors

Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley
876 pages

download

I bought this while I was going through a mini King Arthur/Merlin obsession and when I finally received it, it was a lot bigger than I had expected and my obsession stopped right there. I still really want to read it but I don’t know when I’m going to get to it.

Honorable mention for
The Wise Mans Fear by Patrick Rothfuss
1008 pages

1215032

I thought I would give this an honorable mention because I know it’s massive, I know that I am going to read it *gulp*

A Dance with Dragons by George RR Martin 
1056 pages

13541592

I was so pumped to read this, I was going to read it this year before the sixth book was going to come out. Then the saddening news came and my motivation just deflated.

Under the Dome by Stephen King 
1074 pages

Under_the_Dome_Final

So I have a giant hardcover of this book. It’s heavy and huge, I saw it at Half Price Books for like 5 dollars and I had to have it. I just didn’t think it through that it’s huge, and heavy, and I am so intimidated!

Edge of Eternity by Ken Follet
1120 pages

91d72zson0l-_sl1500_

I love the Century Trilogy and Ken Follet is one of my favorite authors, I loved the Pillars of the Earth and the Fall of Giants, I also loved Winter of the World despite it being dark and hard to read through at points. And I went out and bought this book on my lunch and have barely cracked it open. The intimidation runs deep.


 

An Intimidating Book that I conquered

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon
627 pages

20151201_181635

I was so intimidated to read this but my curiosity finally won out and I read it and I loved it and I beat the intimidation!


What are some books that you are intimidated by? Do we share any intimidations?

11 thoughts on “TTT Most Intimidating Books

Leave a Reply

