Outlander!

 

20151201_181635

Outlander
By Diana Gabaldon
627 pages
book 1 of the Outlander series

synopsis via Goodreads:
The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is just back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach—an “outlander”—in a Scotland torn by war and raiding border clans in the year of Our Lord . . . 1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into the intrigues of lairds and spies that may threaten her life, and shatter her heart. For here James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, shows her a love so absolute that Claire becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire—and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.


 

I did it!

I finally read it!

and I loved it!

I don’t even know where to start here, I was awestruck by the worldbuilding and while it was a little slow at times, it had amazing results. I felt like I was actually there in Scotland, the scenery Gabaldon created was so vivid and stark in my mind. What makes me sad though is that while I really want to go to Scotland and reading this really amplified that desire, I want to go back to 1743 Scotland and experience the true wilderness of the Highlands and the Isle of Skye for myself. Alas, that can’t really happen. Oh well still going to go to Scotland.

I really enjoyed how the time travel was set up, I’ve always thought of it to be jumbled and confusing but sometimes the time travel I see is neat, easily and orderly. I don’t think it would be that way.

One thing that still bugs me is that we never find out what was with that Highlander looking at Claire through her window at the beginning of the book. Was it really Jaime? What was he doing there? How did he get there? I HAVE QUESTIONS!

Lol.

Speaking of Jaime, he was as every bit of delicious as I thought he was going to be. Just yummy. He made my heart melt numerous times, and the umm…adult (?) scenes between him and Claire just…whoa. It was really hot. Great romance between these two, it wasn’t instant love but instead it was built on care/nurturing and protectiveness and really developed into something just amazing!

Question real quick: Do you guys think there’s a difference between love at first sight vs instant love? I kind of do yet I kind of don’t, that’s really confusing I’m sure but I think it would be a fun topic to do a discussion on.

One thing I really loved was Claires learning of medicinal plants, that is something that I would really like to learn more about, so I really enjoyed the little tidbits coming up throughout the story.

I’m hoping to learn more about Gellis in the some of the upcoming books, it sounds like she has a fantastic backstory and I want to know about it.

There were many moments when I was reading where I would think to myself “I am so in love with this book, I don’t know how it can get any better,” then a couple chapters later “I love this even more! I don’t know how I can possibly love it even more!” Turns out it was possible, and that was something that I really liked, it kept getting better and better from something that was already amazing. There weren’t just one or two great things about it, but it kept going and the love kept building up.

At times, this book was heart wrenching because of what the characters had to go through and the hardships that they faced.

74a8aa6ead519ac49ff54f9c0a373ec1

p.s. how beautiful is the Gaelic wedding vow? I’m in love with it!

I need to take a mini break then I am going to jump straight into Dragonfly in Amber. Can’t wait!

 

7 thoughts on “Outlander!

  1. Oh I adore this book! I can’t wait to continue the series 😀 I’m glad you enjoyed it as much as I did! I’m wondering about the highlander at the beginning too (who looks at Claire through the window) – although I’m guessing (hoping) that’ll be answered at some point in the rest of the series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

