Truthwitch Review

20160109_105003

Truthwitch
by Susan Dennard
Published January 5th 2016
Hardback
412 pages
book 1 of 4 of the Witchlands series
my rating: 5 oout of 5 stars

Synopsis via Goodreads:while

On a continent ruled by three empires, some are born with a “witchery,” a magical skill that sets them apart from others.

In the Witchlands, there are almost as many types of magic as there are ways to get in trouble—as two desperate young women know all too well.

Safiya is a Truthwitch, able to discern truth from lie. It’s a powerful magic that many would kill to have on their side, especially amongst the nobility to which Safi was born. So Safi must keep her gift hidden, lest she be used as a pawn in the struggle between empires.

Iseult, a Threadwitch, can see the invisible ties that bind and entangle the lives around her—but she cannot see the bonds that touch her own heart. Her unlikely friendship with Safi has taken her from life as an outcast into one of reckless adventure, where she is a cool, wary balance to Safi’s hotheaded impulsiveness.

Safi and Iseult just want to be free to live their own lives, but war is coming to the Witchlands. With the help of the cunning Prince Merik (a Windwitch and ship’s captain) and the hindrance of a Bloodwitch bent on revenge, the friends must fight emperors, princes, and mercenaries alike, who will stop at nothing to get their hands on a Truthwitch


 

My Thoughts:

So straight up…this book is worthy of all the hype that is going on about it. I loved this so much, I really don’t know what to do with my life now. I loved all of these characters, this magic system, this world, I loved everything about it.

So Safi was my favorite character, I love her passion that she has, while she was very hot tempered she was also just intense with everything that she did from dancing and fighting, to her bond with Iseult. I really loved her fierce protectiveness of Iseult and the desire to defend and protect her from the racism and discrimination aimed at her.

I loved her and Merik’s interactions, you could feel the tension and passion coming off from the pages. You know that frustrated fangirl dance? The one where your OTP is about to kiss but they won’t so you bounce up and down shaking your arms/book in emotional frustration? Yeah, I was doing that a lot during some of their scenes together.

Iseult was also freaking awesome, I want more of her backstory along with more info on her tribe. I also want to know how Threadsisters/Threadbrothers are chosen. Is there a ceremony? Does their witchery have to be compatible? I still have a lot of questions. I also feel like I didn’t get to know Iseult as well as I could have in this book.

From what I do know about her so far is enough for me know that I love her! Her compassion and empathy, her strength. I loved how she and Safi completed each other and I can’t wait to see more of them.

The worldbuilding was freaking awesome I felt like I was immersed into this world and it just felt so real to me. I also really loved the magic system, it did remind me of the Grisha magic system, just a little bit though and because witches specialized in areas, you had Windwitches with reminded me of squallers from the Grisha universe with the way they directed the ships.

I would highly recommend this book to any YA Fantasy lover, it was such a great story about friendship and there was a slow romance build up and that’s always nice. It was so great, I cant believe that I have to wait a whole year until the next one.

4 thoughts on “Truthwitch Review

  1. Ohhh! Seems exciting and action packed. I’ve heard so much hype also and at the same time I think I heard one bad review where they thought it was just meh. I was worried about if I will like it or not, but your review boosted my expectations once again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad to hear it! I always worry about reading a book with so much hype but this one really lived up to my expectations. I know what you mean though one negative review or comment will always stick with you

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

