Carry On Review

20151108_140526

Carry On
by Rainbow Rowell
Hardcover
522 pages
My rating: 3 out of 5 stars

Synopsis via Amazon

Simon Snow is the worst Chosen One who’s ever been chosen.

That’s what his roommate, Baz, says. And Baz might be evil and a vampire and a complete git, but he’s probably right.

Half the time, Simon can’t even make his wand work, and the other half, he starts something on fire. His mentor’s avoiding him, his girlfriend broke up with him, and there’s a magic-eating monster running around, wearing Simon’s face. Baz would be having a field day with all this, if he were here–it’s their last year at the Watford School of Magicks, and Simon’s infuriating nemesis didn’t even bother to show up.

Carry On – The Rise and Fall of Simon Snow is a ghost story, a love story and a mystery. It has just as much kissing and talking as you’d expect from a Rainbow Rowell story – but far, far more monsters

________________________________________

My thoughts:

First thought.  Every time I think about Carry On “Welcome To The Black Parade” gets stuck in my head. All I hear is Gerard Way screaming, “We’ll carry on, we’ll carry on,  and though your spirits gone believe me your memory will carry on,” Am I listening to that right now?

…Maybe…

Another thing before I continue on, there are so many similarities between Carry On and Harry Potter; within the first 50 pages or so the similarities and comparisons are beyond obvious. While there’s nothing wrong with that and it’s understandable because Carry On was a Harry Potter parody in the story Fangirl, but I was still hoping Rowell would create a more original story for this.

At the start of the book it was hard to kind of separate Carry On from Harry Potter, I kept imagining Harry as Simon, Hermione as Penelope, and Draco as Baz, after a while Carry On started developing is own story, the characters evolved past Harry and Hermione and Draco, and it was easier to see it as it’s own story in it’s own world.

I feel like this is a story that I will have to reread a couple of times before the Harry Potter comparisons fade away. Don’t get me wrong there is nothing wrong with a Harry Potter parody but Rainbow Rowell is such an amazing writer and I feel like she could have taken more creative approaches while writing, I feel like she didn’t need to lean on the Wizarding World as heavily as she did.

I could not get into the first few pages of the book, I found the story to be really slow, I did not like Simons attitude towards the start of it, I actually didnt like Simon until the midpoint of the entire book. You know who I did love though, Baz. Its really not that surprising since I loved Draco Malfoy but yeah Baz was my favorite, followed by Penelope. I was expecting a little bit more of a villainous attitude from Baz instead of a kind of silky emo teenage boy, but I still liked his character.

I enjoyed the multiple POVs in the story, Baz was my favorite POV, followed by Penelope, Simon, Agatha, Lucy and finally the Mage.

I feel like this will have to be a book that I will need to reread a couple of times before the Harry Potter similarities start to fade away.

 

Leave a Reply

