Attachments Review

20151108_140610Attachments
by Rainbow Rowell
paperback
323 pages
my rating: 3 out of 5 stars

“Hi, I’m the guy who reads your e-mail, and also, I love you . . . ” From the award-winning author of Eleanor & Park, Fangirl, andLandline comes a hilarious and heartfelt novel about love in the workplace.

Beth Fremont and Jennifer Scribner-Snyder know that somebody is monitoring their work e-mail. (Everybody in the newsroom knows. It’s company policy.) But they can’t quite bring themselves to take it seriously. They go on sending each other endless and endlessly hilarious e-mails, discussing every aspect of their personal lives.

Meanwhile, Lincoln O’Neill can’t believe this is his job now- reading other people’s e-mail. When he applied to be “internet security officer,” he pictured himself building firewalls and crushing hackers- not writing up a report every time a sports reporter forwards a dirty joke.

When Lincoln comes across Beth’s and Jennifer’s messages, he knows he should turn them in. But he can’t help being entertained and captivated by their stories.

By the time Lincoln realizes he’s falling for Beth, it’s way too late to introduce himself.

What would he say . . . ?


My thoughts:

So this book was sweet and adorable, Rainbow Rowell writes such endearing characters and gives them cutesy little quirks. That being said, I felt so underwhelmed by this book. At this point I feel I can say that I am not a fan of her new adult novels, I LOVED Eleanor and Park and devoured Fangirl like nobody’s business but as for Attachments and Landline? I just feel underwhelmed. Are they cute? Yes. Would I recommend them? Probably not. I just feel like there’s something missing that would help push the story along just a little bit.

I felt kind of detached from the characters, not Lincoln, but from Beth and Jennifer, since their conversations are only through emails I feel like you don’t get to know them the way you do with others, if you get what I mean, you don’t get to read their thoughts, just what they choose to reveal through email. A couple very sad things happened to both of these characters in the story but since I didn’t feel the attachment to them that I usuallyΒ feel with other characters, the events didn’t really effect me, was I sad? Yes. But it was the same said that I would feel if a stranger was telling me bad news vs if a close friend was telling me bad news. I’m not sure if that makes sense, but it’s the best way I can think to explain it.

Lincoln, on the other hand, his story wasn’tΒ set through email, there were flashbacks to his college days and to where his heart broke and his depression began. I wasn’t expecting that angle to the story, I wasn’t expecting Lincoln’s battle of his depression, but it was endearing to see him take charge of his life instead of just drifting.

That was probably my favorite aspect of the story, he came to grips with how unhappy he was with his life and he took the baby steps to fixing what he didn’t like, he made new friends, tried new things, joined a gym, moved out, and most important he quit a job that was making him miserable. I know countless people who are very unhappy with their life, but they don’tΒ do anything to change it, those people are the ones I recommend this book to.

In short:

I liked it well enough and I thought the story ending was very realistic with how the story ended and where the plot took it to. That being said I did not love this book. it wasn’t what I was expecting.

 

One thought on “Attachments Review

Leave a Reply

