Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda

20151129_114643Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda
by Becky Albertalli
Hardcover
303 pages
Published April 7th 2015
my rating 4 out 5 stars
❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Synopsis via Goodreads

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.


My thoughts:

I adored this book, I didn’t fully love it, but I adored it, it was a sweet and nostalgic inducing story about first love and a journey to discovering who you are. And the characters were so adorable and well developed, I loved that Simon was a big Harry Potter fan it made him kind of real and relatable that was one of my favorite facts about him. I gotta say I was not able to guess who Blue was, I tried and I was wrong and I never saw it coming about who it was.

Looking back it’s a bit obvious but this was such a fun story while at the same time it brought up points that I didn’t think it would such as bullying and the pressure to come out or not come out. It also dealt with falling in love with someone from the inside out. I thought about it, how could he fall in love with someone over email that he didn’t even know? I didn’t really like how he put his love life on hold for someone that he didn’t know, that wasn’t sure if he wanted to meet Simon, and it really irked me that Simon waited for Blue when he could have got on other dates and learned more about himself.

One thing I really liked was how his parents were the weirdly obsessive and seeing how it got on his nerves was also very relatable since my parents had moments like that and those moments got on my nerves too.

This book had quite a few fun twists and turns throughout it and while I never tried to predict the ending I don’t think I would have gotten it right to begin with lol. I never wanted this to end and I look forward to seeing what Becky releases in the future.

2 thoughts on “Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Leave a Reply

