Top 10 Authors I am thankful for

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly book meme hosted by Broke and Bookish

This week’s theme was Thanksgiving themed Freebie — ten books I’m thankful for, authors I’m thankful for, Ten fictional families I’d like to celebrate Thanksgiving with, a personal non-bookish thankful list, etc. etc.

These are the authors that I am most thankful for, their books have not only provided comfort in times when I felt lonely but they also helped turn me into the person I am today, and I will always be thankful for the lessons and fictional friends these books brought me.

 

hp-covers
JK Rowling- She had to be number 1 on the list, Harry Potter, I don’t even know what I can say about Harry Potter that hasn’t already been said. These books are like home for me.

A_Game_of_Thrones_Novel_Covers
George RR Martin- George is a huge writing influence for me and I am continuously fascinated by his world building, character developments, complex plots. You name an aspect of his writing and I am fascinated by it.

thrownofglass
Sarah J Maas- Throne of Glass really got me into reading, while I loved reading before, ToG fueled my passion and took it soaring to new heights and I will never look back.


Frances Hodgson Burnett- When I was a kid I used to read A Little Princess and A Secret Garden over and over, I borrowed them from the library so many times and also rented the movies from Hollywood Video more times than I can count. These books are a big part of what got me into reading at a young age.

Ken Follet- Follet is another huge writing influence for me, I love seeing how he creates multiple POVs in his books and has them all weave together.


For the next few authors its hard to describe why I am thankful beyond that each of these authors kept my love of reading going, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on anything that any of these authors wrote.
Rainbow Rowell
John Green
Philippa Gregory
James Patterson

51K75eaDUXL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_
Laurie Halse Anderson- I’m very thankful for Laurie Halse Anderson, for writing about topics that for a long time were swept under the rug. Wintergirls helped me so much in school with my own eating disorder. Knowing that I could open this book at any time and be with a character going through something similar with me was always comforting. I never got a point where I was sick and I think reading this and seeing how Lia’s eating disorder affected her and her life really helped me with that. Wintergirls is a book I read years ago and still think about to this day.

 

So those are the authors I am most thankful for, who are yours? Did you do a post like this? If you did post a link and I’ll go check it out.

Leave a Reply

