Ruin and Rising book review

Ruin and Rising
by Leigh Bardugo
Hardcover
417 pages
June 17th 2014

20151016_102319

Synopsis:

The capital has fallen. The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction–and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

I enjoyed Ruin and Rising the most out of the whole trilogy, the whole series was enjoyable and not only would I recommend it but its one that I will definitely re-read.

My thoughts during Ruin and Rising

Right off the bat my first thought was “Omg just kill the Apparat already he is the worst kind of priest ever! Just the worst corrupted priest, I just want him to die already.”
OMG just kill the Apparat!!!

I thought that Alina had great character development in the third book A+++ she turned into such a strong character during this book, I loved her whole power hungry trip that she had going on along with her obsession about the firebird. It was also interesting to see her accept and embrace being made into a saint, it was a very gradual change that I thought was well done.

Speaking of character development, Zoya images
J’adore Zoya, I love her snarky comments, her vanity, and just her being sassy and annoyed with everyone, reminds me of some other heroine characters I know and love. I would love to see a novella from her POV or even her own spin-off.

Every time I saw Tamar and Nadia together I would just melt a little bit more inside, they were so sweet!

I especially loved the scenery with Alina when she had the moonlight and starlight clinging to her after she broke out of the tunnels, I love moonlight and stars so this was one of my favorite scenes to picture in my head.
Genya-wow!! king-wow!! Nikolai and the king-wow!!
I could not believe that, Genya’s strength was beyond admirable, I was so happy to see her stand up to the King. Nikolai though, holy shit. That was insane.

Baghra- I love that cranky old lady, she totally grew on me, she had a fascinating back story and I loved hearing about it.

One of my favorite moments in the books was the “sleepover” setting, there were great bonding moments with Alina and the girls, I think it helped ground Alina more and accept what she had to do, it was a great bonding moment and it helped me connect to the characters more and more while that should have happened earlier on it was still great to have.
my heart totally broke for Nikolai so many times I loved the scenes between him and Alina, they seemed so good for each other and I felt like they brought out better parts in each other. I totally had them shipped.

One of my favorite things throughout the story was that Harshaw still had Oncat, that stood out in my mind all throughout the book, that everything they were going through on their journey, there was a cat with them all the time, I loved the devotion and bond that Oncat showed to Harshaw

Mal WTF?! I spent this whole time thinking that he was going to have some sort of dormant Grisha power too, boy was I wrong.
I wanted to cry every time I saw Nikolai

One thought I had during the story was when Alina or the Darkling were visiting each other in their spirit forms and are able to touch each other I just keep thinking that this is a prime assassination opportunity…I also think I’ve spent too much time reading from assassins POV. Thank you, Throne of Glass and also Elektra’s and Black Widows graphic novels

Mal!!! My heart is screaming
Wait WTF?
What?
What?!
WHAT?!?

I don’t want to go into the ending of this because of massive spoilers, but I’ll just leave you with my final thought as I closed the book…

Final thought: My ship did not sail, my ship crashed and burned.

One thought on “Ruin and Rising book review

Leave a Reply

