Siege and Storm review

Siege and Storm
By Leigh Bardugo
paperback
435 pages
Published July 17th, 2014
my rating: 4 out 5 stars

Synopsis:
Darkness never dies.
Hunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land, all while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. But she can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.
The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

My thoughts:

I’m not sure if I liked this book more than the first one, It had quite a few slow parts while the story was building up points, I think they were well worth it, though, the climax and the high points of the story were gripping, unfortunately, this led to me taking days to finish this book. I still really liked it, though.

I loved the new characters introduced in this story, first there’s the twins, Tolya and Tamar, I really liked Tamar right off the bat, she was pretty badass and I loved her and Tolya’s dedication to Alina and being her guards. Then there’s Nikolai, I adore him, I felt myself connecting to him so quickly, he’s cunning, smart, ambitious, and yet he was endearing and sensitive. For a “privateer” he had a great moral compass and was true to his word. After the betrayal from Genya and the Darkling, I really felt Alina needed someone like that in her life since she wasn’t getting any support at all from Mal.

Oh! Mal! Speaking of that jackass, I severely disliked him in this book, both he and Alina irritated me whenever they were together, Mal had unrealistic expectations of her and she couldn’t communicate with him until it was too late. If that’s not a recipe for disaster then I don’t know what is.

It was interesting to see how power hungry Alina became as the story went on, the way she would ache over the missing fetter, her obsession with the firebird, and the bloodlust she experienced. I feel like every time I have a handle on her personality as a character something else pops up and twists my view on her.

My opinion on the Darkling did a total 180-degree spin, that dude is sinister and twisted, I loved it. I was horrified from the get go about him and I enjoyed feeling that for him. (Maybe I’m a little twisted…) but I wanted a more villainous villain and I got it. I was quite pleased about that.

Sadly for most of the book, I was feeling pretty meh about it, but after that intense ending I ended up liking it more and more, and I am really looking forward to reading the final book.

4 thoughts on “Siege and Storm review

  1. Great review! I liked the first book a lot more than this one, but I still really enjoyed Siege and Storm. I’m a Mal fan, but in this book he really did start to get on my nerves!

    Like

Leave a Reply

