The Young Elites review

20150930_182554The Young Elites
by Marie Lu
Hardcover
355 pages
Published October 7th 2014
my rating 5 out 5

Synopsis:

I am tired of being used, hurt, and cast aside.

Adelina Amouteru is a survivor of the blood fever. A decade ago, the deadly illness swept through her nation. Most of the infected perished, while many of the children who survived were left with strange markings. Adelina’s black hair turned silver, her lashes went pale, and now she has only a jagged scar where her left eye once was. Her cruel father believes she is a malfetto, an abomination, ruining their family’s good name and standing in the way of their fortune. But some of the fever’s survivors are rumored to possess more than just scars—they are believed to have mysterious and powerful gifts, and though their identities remain secret, they have come to be called the Young Elites.

Teren Santoro works for the king. As Leader of the Inquisition Axis, it is his job to seek out the Young Elites, to destroy them before they destroy the nation. He believes the Young Elites to be dangerous and vengeful, but it’s Teren who may possess the darkest secret of all.

Enzo Valenciano is a member of the Dagger Society. This secret sect of Young Elites seeks out others like them before the Inquisition Axis can. But when the Daggers find Adelina, they discover someone with powers like they’ve never seen.
Adelina wants to believe Enzo is on her side, and that Teren is the true enemy. But the lives of these three will collide in unexpected ways, as each fights a very different and personal battle. But of one thing they are all certain: Adelina has abilities that shouldn’t belong in this world. A vengeful blackness in her heart. And a desire to destroy all who dare to cross her.

It is my turn to use. My turn to hurt.

  

My review:

Okay I loved this, and yes I typically love villains so this book was perfect for me. It was dark and twisted and I just want more of it! I want more of Adelina and this world. I loved the balance struggle of good and bad. OH! And the passion between Adelina and Enzo, my god you could feel that heat coming out of the pages! Anytime Enzo and Adelina were having a moment I was completely engrossed, there’s nothing in this world that could have torn me away from that book at those moments.

Teren was an interesting character, I’m still not sure what I think about him. I really don’t want to spoil anything but when his character was more revealed I was just shocked!

And I honestly expected a little more from Adelina’s powers I don’t know what I was expecting but from the summary of the book I expected her to be more powerful I guess and to be able to do more than conjure illusions. Don’t get me wrong it’s terrifying what she can do and how she can manipulate someone’s mind it’s just not the direction I originally thought. Her draw to pain and chaos intrigued me and as awful as it sounds I really want her to embrace that darkness inside of her.

I really enjoy reading from a darker and villain’s point of view, I’d really like to read more stories set up like that.
I cannot wait until the next book comes out. In all honesty, it left me in a bit of a book hangover :/

Favorite Quotes:

“To love is to be afraid. You are frightened, deathly terrified, that something will happen to those you love. Think of the possibilities. Does your heart clench with each thought? That, my friend, is love. And love enslaves us all, for you cannot have love without fear.”

“Everyone has darkness inside them, however hidden.”

“Embellish your flaws. They will turn into your assets.”

“So. Tell me, little wolf. Do you want to punish those who have wronged you?”

Leave a Reply

