Beautiful Disaster review

Beautiful Disaster
by Jamie McGuire
paperback
416 pages
Published August 14th 2012
my rating 3 out 5 stars
20150930_182131

Synopsis:
The new Abby Abernathy is a good girl. She doesn’t drink or swear, and she has the appropriate number of cardigans in her wardrobe. Abby believes she has enough distance from the darkness of her past, but when she arrives at college with her best friend, her path to a new beginning is quickly challenged by Eastern University’s Walking One-Night Stand.
Travis Maddox, lean, cut, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby wants-and needs-to avoid. He spends his days as the ultimate college campus charmer. Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his appeal, Travis tricks her into his daily life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must abstinent for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time. Either way Travis has no idea that he has met his match.

My Review

Okay so I liked this well enough while reading it, and before I had finished it I was ready to give it a solid 4 stars, so I really liked it, I liked the characters, Abby and Travis, I didn’t so much like America because I was annoyed that she really couldn’t make up her mind for the most part about Travis and Abby dating.
While I liked Abby and I liked the sense of mystery and the slow revealing of who she is, I didn’t care so much about how she went about dating Parker, I thought it was really shitty to do and then purposefully hurting Travis at times was uncalled for.
As for Travis, I loved his bad boy character, I just love a good bad boy and he was a great one with his fighting, motorcycle, man whoring…why am I attracted to these types again? When they were together though I thought he was obsessive, possessive, and generally unhealthy about the relationship. There were many signs that I would personally never tolerate in a relationship, or even tolerate for a person in my life.
Example: his little threesome that one night then crawling in bed with Abby, I mean how disrespectful is that?
They really were a disaster; the book is adequately titled.

Now the ending ruined the entire book for me just because I hate the last five or so pages, I found it to be extremely tacky and there was a hint of insecurity at a time when you shouldn’t be insecure at all. Overall it really ruined the book for me which was disappointing,

Thinking back I’m considering changing my rating down to 2 stars, because I enjoyed it while I was reading it but thinking on it now, there’s a lot of stuff that just irritated me about it. I don’t plan on continuing on with any of the companion novels or any other Maddox Brothers books.

3 thoughts on “Beautiful Disaster review

  1. I’ve been obsessing over the duology and then the novella, but only after I finished all three, took a step back and reflected on the story, I also realized that I was really annoyed by the characters. Abby had these random reactions to things and it was often the opposite of the most logical reaction. Odd, but I guess that’s life ay. It’s messing and confusing and your actions don’t make sense.

    Like

Leave a Reply

