The Martian book review

20150930_165803

The Martian
by Andy Weir
My Rating: 4.5 out of 5 stars

Synopsis:
Six days ago astronaut Mark Watney became one of the first people to walk on Mars.

Now he’s sure he’ll be the first person to die there.

After a dust storm forces his crew to evacuate the planet while thinking him dead, Mark finds himself stranded on MAr’s surface, with no way to signal Earth that he’s alive. And even if he could get word out, his supplies would be gone years before a rescue could arrive.
Chances are, though, Mark won’t have time to starve to death. The damaged machinery, unforgiving environment, or plain-old “human error” are much more likely to kill him first.
Armed with nothing but his ingenuity, his engineering skills and strength, Mark embarks on a dogged quest to stay alive. But will his resourcefulness be enough to overcome the impossible odds against him?

My Review:

First off before I get startedΒ on this; let me just say one thing:

Google, I love you.
You are a lifesaver, you beautiful know-it-all search engine. BFFs forever?

20151002_081651

I googled so much while reading this book that I turned around and made a little cheat sheet for me to use while reading this. Not for the first time, but I wish I was way better at science, and also the metric system…

20151002_082819

Google, you came through for me again, I wanted a more accurateΒ visual of distance in my head and since I don’t know the metric system I had to convert it, and there’s no way I could ever do that in my head.

20150930_165827

All in all, this book took a huge toll on my emotions, I’m talking laughing, sad crying, and happy crying. I would cry out of happiness every time that he was able to communicate with Earth; generally I would just cry when something good happened for Watney or when he would prevail in a hopeless situation. Then there the bad moments that I would cry for him, bleak moments or struggles that he faced.

Seriously this book should come with Kleenex.

I docked a half point for the science jargon, a lot of it went way over my head, I am absolutelyΒ horrible, I repeat HORRIBLE, at math, I struggled in Chemistry a lot and never took physics and I feel like you need to have a basic understanding of those 3 subjects to comfortably read this without your brain feeling like pudding, which mine did after a while.
Aside from all that I loved this book, Mark was such a loveable character and I was super attached to him after about 5 pages, I was just hooked, he’s hilarious with his remarks and responses, his sense of humor matched mine really well so it was enjoyable.

Real quick before I wrap this up, one thing that really threw me off about this book is that there was no villain, no bad person, just a bad environment (literally since he’s on Mars), but it was a beautiful story about the human race coming together to save a human life. What could be more amazing then that?

3 thoughts on “The Martian book review

Leave a Reply

