Ready Player One

20150930_165837

Ready Player One
by Ernest Cline
Synopsis:

In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenager Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this worlds digital confines-puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them.
But when Wade stumbles onto the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win-and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.

20150930_165747

My Review:

Warning: Contains Spoilers

I’m sorry if I don’t have my thoughts completely together yet. I literally finished the book about 10 minutes ago and I’m still trying to accept that it’s over. (Insert accurate picture of what I looked like while reading)

1282786204310

Yes that is me…also…

rainbow

My God this book was amazing, I hate myself for not reading this sooner, seriously just kicked myself because it was at the bottom of my TBR pile. Every time I looked at it I just thought Eh it doesn’t really sound up my alley, maybe later I’ll read it….STUPID STUPID STUPID!!!! I’m never going to stop kicking myself over it.

20150930_165747-001

I loved the technological advances although in my head I was imagining everyone to be like the people in Wall-e but with the visor and gloves, you know what I mean? I imagined everyone was massively obese sitting in these floating hover chairs playing the games. At one point with the haptic chair I don’t think I was too far off. I also kept finding myself wondering about the long time retina damage due to the visors; since computer screens are bad for your eyes, I can only imagine how worse these visors would be and you would think that theres gotta be some long term damage to your eyes.
This book made me simultaneously fear the future IRL and also crave the tech advances, it would truly be amazing and terrifying at the same time.

I loved the characters, I especially loved that two out of the High 5 gunters were women, I was extremely happy because if you’re a girl and you get on Xbox live or Playstation’s equivalent you know what the harassment that gets thrown your way is like. Art3mis was so amazing, I adored her from her first scene I thought she was great. I also loved the diversity in the characters, Wade and Aech were overweight, Art3mis wasn’t stick thin, Aech was African American and LGBT, and then there is Ogden. He became my favorite after his television interview when he started trash talking IOI big time and then with his club scene. Awesome. That’s all I’ll say is just that he’s awesome.

Overall the story moved at a great pace, the 80s references were incredible, they truly helped build the story. I’ve already recommended this book to about 5 out my friends and family members, hell I was recommending this book before I even finished Chapter 2. I was already in love at that point.

One thought on “Ready Player One

Leave a Reply

